News Releases

Ludwig scientists honored with AACR Team Science Award

Ludwig Cancer Research extends its congratulations to scientists at the Ludwig Center at Johns Hopkins and in Melbourne who were awarded the 2017 AACR Team Science Award today. The researchers were recognized as part of the International Biopsy Initiative Team.

“Ludwig researchers have made significant progress toward developing less invasive, more effective tests for the early detection and prevention of cancer,” said Robert Strausberg, Executive Vice President for Research, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. “This Award acknowledges their ongoing, collaborative efforts to improve human health.”

The Award commends the scientists for their collective efforts in developing liquid biopsy tests to advance the detection, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of cancer. The team members are Bert Vogelstein, Luis A. Diaz, Nishant Agrawal, Chetan Bettegowda, Frank Diehl, Peter Gibbs, Stanley R. Hamilton, Ralph H. Hruban, Hartmut Juhl, Isaac Kinde, Kenneth Kinzler, Martin Nowak, Nickolas Papadopoulos, David Sidransky, Jeanne Tie and Victor E. Velculescu.

The AACR Team Science Award was established by the American Association for Cancer Research and Eli Lilly and Company to acknowledge and catalyze the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to the understanding of cancer and/or the translation of research discoveries into clinical cancer applications.

The award, along with a $50,000 honorarium, was presented during the Opening Ceremony of the AACR Annual Meeting 2017 in Washington D.C.


You are now leaving Ludwig Cancer Research's website and are going to a website that is not operated by the association. We are not responsible for the content or availability of linked sites. Do you wish to continue?